Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) about Clarity

We have collected your questions and answered them.

Target Group and Customers

Which industries, companies and departments use Clarity PPM?

The use of Clarity PPM is not limited to specific industries. The software is used by customers in every industry. There are also no restrictions with regard to the departments at the company. Clarity PPM is used for IT projects as well as in areas such as research and development, sales, marketing, and all other business units.

How big does a company need to be for it to make sense to use Clarity PPM?

Clarity PPM is the right solution for medium-sized and enterprise-class companies. Whether or not it makes sense depends on the individual case. The number of future software users and the projects that are to be mapped in the system provide some level of general guidance. Experience shows that Clarity PPM makes sense when there are more than 50 users and 50 projects. There is no upper limit. The largest system in use to date has more than 100,000 users.

How does Clarity PPM differ from comparable solutions on the market?

With Clarity PPM, you get all the features that you need for your operational and strategic project and portfolio management in one software package. Thanks to its individual configuration options, it can be optimally adapted to the needs of your company. The modern user interface and interactive communication options increase the level of user acceptance and facilitate the change process. Clarity PPM is continuously being developed, and it has been a market leader for many years. This has also been confirmed by independent analysts, including Gartner, IDC, Forrester, and LeBihan.

View reports

Licensing and Purchase

How much does Clarity PPM cost? What licensing models are available?

You can buy or rent licenses for Clarity PPM. The price depends on the number of users, the types of access rights they need, and the desired operating model (SaaS or on-premise). Licensing for Clarity PPM takes place through so-called named user licenses. There are three distinct user groups: 

  • Full Function Users (access to all functions)
  • Restricted Users (restricted access)
  • View-Only Users (read access with some write privileges)

How can we get licenses for Clarity PPM?

You can purchase licenses through selected partners (Tier 1 partners) of the manufacturer Broadcom, such as itdesign. As the largest Tier 1 partner in Europe, we are at your disposal to answer any further questions you may have about licensing. In addition to purchasing, you also have the option of renting licenses.

Contact us now

Implementation and Change

Can we test and see Clarity PPM with no obligations?

We will provide you with a test version on request. We recommend that you join us for a short phone call beforehand to determine whether Clarity PPM suits your requirements. We would be happy to join you for your first look at the tool in a live demo.

Schedule a demo

Is it possible to use just individual modules of the Clarity software package?

Clarity includes a number of different features. However, you only use the modules that you really need. The nice thing is this: All modules are already included in your license. So you can start with the features that are most important to you and expand your system at a later point in time. This structure ensures the long-term success of the software at your company, because Clarity can adapt to meet your needs as your organization grows.

Learn more about the features

How long does it take to implement the software?

The time needed for the implementation stage depends on the needs of your company. With the itd Quick Start software implementation method, Clarity can be deployed within just six weeks. You get to take advantage of existing best practice packages and standard features.

You can achieve a higher degree of flexibility and cover your specific requirements when you use the itd SIM (Secure Implementation Method) implementation method. It typically takes several weeks to implement, but the actual amount of time depends heavily on your requirements. We create a realistic schedule on the basis of a joint workshop where we articulate your requirements.

Learn more about implementation

How are customers trained to use the software?

The goal is that you successfully implement the software at your company and use it as efficiently as possible. Users, application managers, and administrators can be trained accordingly to make sure this happens. A train-the-trainer training course is recommended, as this will enable you to train new employees and users in the software yourself. Depending on your needs, these training courses can take place at your premises, at our premises in Tübingen, via a web session, or as a video.

View our training courses

Hosting, Operation and Support

What are the available operating models?

We distinguish between three possible operating models:

  • itdesign Clarity SaaS
  • Broadcom Clarity SaaS
  • On-Premise

If you prefer an on-premise solution, we can install Clarity directly on your server. If you want to operate the software in the cloud, you have the option of using the application directly via itdesign (itdesign Clarity SaaS) or via the manufacturer (Broadcom Clarity SaaS) as a SaaS solution. With itdesign Clarity SaaS, you can combine the benefits of a SaaS and an on-premise solution, since we will also handle the technical support for and optimization of your software.

Compare all three

What is itdesign Clarity SaaS?

As part of the itdesign Clarity SaaS offer, we take over the hosting and application management of your system. You thus receive the all-round carefree package and can rely on your system functioning reliably and your data being secure at all times.

See advantages

Where will our data be stored if we opt for a SaaS solution?

You have two options for using Clarity as a SaaS solution. If you select itdesign Clarity SaaS, we will install your Clarity at a German data center of your choice, such as, for example, at an Amazon Web Services (AWS) facility, and you will receive support directly from itdesign. With Broadcom SaaS, your system is hosted by the manufacturer at a German data center in the Google Cloud Platform (GCP).

Check out the SaaS options

How can we change our Clarity hosting provider?

As an all-round partner for Clarity, itdesign takes over the hosting and application management for your system. Your advantage: We have decades of experience with both the Clarity application and the appropriate infrastructure. Thus, you get a single reliable and competent partner for all concerns regarding your Clarity system.

View hosting services

How can we move our existing On-Premise-Clarity into the cloud?

We would be happy to accompany you on your way to the cloud. With our Clarity SaaS offer, you get everything from a single source: hosting and application management in an all-round carefree package.

Learn more

Who provides support and maintenance for our system?

As a CA Premier Support Partner, our itdesign support team in Germany can provide you with support regarding various kinds of Clarity questions and problems in either English or German. This includes 2nd level as well as 3rd level support. We will also ensure the smooth operation of your software and take care of maintenance. If required, we can also take care of the application management of the system.

Learn more about our support

Technical Advice

Is Clarity PPM developed on a continuing basis? How often are upgrades released?

Every quarter, the manufacturer Broadcom, publishes a new release of the software with extended features. However, you can decide for yourself whether and when you want to use a new version. We will inform you on our news blog when a new version is available and which new features can be found in the respective release.

Check out our blog

How stable is the performance of Clarity PPM with large numbers of users?

Clarity PPM can easily handle any number of users, and it is extremely scalable. Even with 100,000 users in the system, the software continues to run at a high level of performance.

Partners and Community

How does itdesign guarantee information security? Is itdesign ISO certified?

The security of your information is particularly important to us. We have even put it in writing. That is why the itdesign SaaS solution for Clarity PPM has been certified according to ISO/IEC 27001:2013 since August 2019.

View certificate

Is there a user community for Clarity PPM?

In Germany, Austria, and Switzerland, there is a very active user group for Clarity PPM that is independent of any service provider. Users from various industries and companies exchange best practices, experiences, and tips with one another at regular meetings.

The Clarity Community also meets at the itdesign PPM Conference once a year for two days. This event thrives on exchanges between customers, partners, the manufacturer, and itdesign. Other than the popular evening event, the program also consists of practical lectures, workshops, and the product roadmap.

Can we directly contact the manufacturer Broadcom?

Broadcom holds various web sessions where customers can ask questions, request features, leave feedback, and download release previews. These events provide you with the opportunity to regularly and directly communicate with Clarity PPM product managers and express your wishes and suggestions.

View formats and dates

Do You Have Any Further Questions?

We will gladly answer your questions in person. I can't wait to hear from you!

Contact us now

Clarity PPM

For Comprehensive Project and Portfolio Management

  • Maximum Configurability
  • Comprehensive Range of Features
  • Reporting and Business Intelligence
  • Acceptance Thanks to User Friendlines
  • Agile or Classic Project Management
  • Long-Term Investment Security
Learn more about Clarity

I Look Forward To Your Message!

Paul Krauss

Account Manager PPM

+49 7071 3667 60
ppm@itdesign.de

Contact

FAQ – häufig gestellte Fragen zu Clarity

Wir haben Ihre Fragen gesammelt und stehen Rede und Antwort.

Zielgruppe und Kunden

Welche Branchen, Unternehmen und Abteilungen setzen Clarity PPM ein?

Der Einsatz von Clarity PPM ist nicht auf bestimmte Branchen begrenzt. Die Software wird von Kunden jeder Branche verwendet. Auch bezüglich der Abteilungen im Unternehmen gibt es keine Einschränkungen. Clarity PPM wird sowohl für IT-Projekte, als auch in Bereichen wie Forschung und Entwicklung, Vertrieb, Marketing und allen weiteren Business Units eingesetzt.

Ab welcher Unternehmensgröße ist der Einsatz von Clarity PPM sinnvoll?

Clarity PPM ist die passende Lösung für Unternehmen im Mittelstand und Enterprise-Bereich. Die Sinnhaftigkeit hängt dabei vom Einzelfall ab. Eine grobe Richtung gibt die Anzahl der zukünftigen Software-User sowie der Projekte, die im System abgebildet werden sollen. Unsere Erfahrung zeigt, dass Clarity PPM ab 50 Usern und 50 Projekten sinnvoll ist. Nach oben gibt es keine Grenze. Das größte bis dato eingesetzte System umfasst mehr als 100.000 User.

Wie unterscheidet sich Clarity PPM von vergleichbaren Lösungen am Markt?

Mit Clarity PPM haben Sie alle Funktionen für Ihr operatives und strategisches Projekt- und Portfoliomanagement in einer Software. Dank ihrer individuellen Konfigurierbarkeit kann sie optimal an die Bedürfnisse Ihres Unternehmens angepasst werden. Das moderne User Interface und die interaktiven Kommunikationsmöglichkeiten steigern die Akzeptanz und erleichtern den Change-Prozess. Clarity PPM wird kontinuierlich weiterentwickelt und ist seit vielen Jahren führend am Markt. Das bestätigen auch unabhängige Analysten wie Gartner, IDC, Forrester und LeBihan.

Bewertungen anschauen

Lizenzierung und Erwerb

Wie viel kostet Clarity PPM? Welche Lizenzmodelle gibt es?

Sie können Lizenzen für Clarity PPM kaufen oder mieten. Der Preis hängt von Ihren Userzahlen, der Ausprägung deren Zugriffsrechten sowie vom gewünschten Betriebsmodell (SaaS oder On-Premise) ab. Die Lizenzierung für Clarity PPM erfolgt durch sogenannte Named-User-Lizenzen. Hierbei wird zwischen drei User-Gruppen unterschieden: 

  • Full Function User (Zugriff auf alle Funktionen)
  • Restricted User (eingeschränkter Zugriff)
  • View-Only User (Lesezugriff mit einzelnen Bearbeitungsmöglichkeiten)

Wie können wir Lizenzen für Clarity PPM erwerben?

Lizenzen können Sie über ausgewählte Partner (Tier 1 Partner) des Herstellers Broadcom wie itdesign erwerben. Als größter Tier 1 Partner in Europa stehen wir Ihnen gerne für weitere Fragen zur Lizenzierung zur Verfügung.  Neben dem Kauf haben Sie außerdem die Möglichkeit, Lizenzen zu mieten.

Kontakt aufnehmen

Einführung und Change

Können wir Clarity PPM unverbindlich kennenlernen und testen?

Wir stellen Ihnen auf Anfrage eine Testversion zur Verfügung. Vorab empfehlen wir ein kurzes gemeinsames Telefonat, um festzustellen, ob Clarity PPM zu Ihren Anforderungen passt. Gerne werfen wir bei einer Live Demo gemeinsam mit Ihnen den ersten Blick ins Tool. Laden Sie am besten die wichtigsten Stakeholder in Ihrem Unternehmen gleich dazu ein.

Demo vereinbaren

Können wir einzelne Module aus dem Funktionsumfang nutzen?

Clarity umfasst viele verschiedene Funktionen. Sie nutzen jedoch nur die Module, die Sie auch wirklich brauchen. Das Schöne: Alle Module sind bereits in Ihrer Lizenz enthalten. So können Sie zunächst mit den für Sie wichtigsten Funktionen starten und Ihr System zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt ausbauen. Dieser Aufbau sichert den langfristigen Erfolg der Software in Ihrem Unternehmen, denn wenn sich Ihre Organisation verändert, wächst Clarity problemlos mit.

Features ansehen

Wie lange dauert die Software-Implementierung?

Die Dauer der Implementierung richtet sich an den Bedürfnissen Ihres Unternehmens aus. Mit der Software-Einführungsmethode itd Quick Start kann die Implementierung von Clarity innerhalb von nur sechs Wochen erfolgen. Dabei nutzen Sie die vorhandenen Best Practice-Pakete und standardnahe Funktionalitäten.

Ein höheres Maß an Flexibilität und die Abdeckung Ihrer spezifischen Anforderungen erreichen Sie mit der Einführungsmethode itd SIM (Secure Implementation Method). Die Dauer der Einführung beträgt dabei typischerweise mehrere Wochen, hängt jedoch stark von Ihren Anforderungen ab. Auf Basis eines gemeinsamen Anforderungsworkshops erstellen wir einen realistischen Zeitplan.

Mehr erfahren

Wie werden Anwender*innen geschult?

Ziel ist, dass Sie die Software in Ihrem Unternehmen erfolgreich einführen und möglichst effizient nutzen. Damit dies gelingt, können Anwender*innen, Applikationsverantwortliche und Administrator*innen entsprechend geschult werden. Eine Train-the-Trainer-Schulung ist empfehlenswert, da Sie somit in der Lage sind, selbstständig neue Mitarbeitende und Anwendende in die Software einzuarbeiten. Diese Schulungen finden je nach Bedarf bei Ihnen vor Ort, bei uns in Tübingen, über eine Websession oder als Video statt.

Schulungen ansehen

Betrieb, Betreuung und Hosting

Welche Betriebsmodelle gibt es?

Wir unterscheiden zwischen drei möglichen Betriebsmodellen:

  • itdesign Clarity SaaS
  • SaaS-Angebot des Herstellers
  • On-Premise

Wenn Sie eine On-Premise-Lösung bevorzugen, installieren wir Clarity direkt auf Ihrem eigenen Server. Sollten Sie die Software in der Cloud betreiben wollen, haben Sie die Möglichkeit, die Applikation direkt über itdesign (itdesign Clarity SaaS) oder über den Hersteller (Clarity SaaS) als SaaS-Lösung zu nutzen. Mit itdesign Clarity SaaS kombinieren Sie die Vorteile einer SaaS- und einer On-Premise-Lösung, da wir zusätzlich die fachliche Betreuung und Optimierung Ihrer Software übernehmen.

Varianten im Vergleich sehen

Was ist itdesign Clarity SaaS?

Im Rahmen des itdesign Clarity SaaS-Angebots übernehmen wir das Hosting und Applikationsmanagement Ihres Systems. Sie bekommen somit das Rundum-Sorglos-Paket und können sich darauf verlassen, dass Ihr System jederzeit zuverlässig funktioniert und Ihre Daten sicher sind.

Vorteile entdecken

Wo liegen die Daten beim Einsatz einer SaaS-Lösung?

Sie haben zwei Möglichkeiten, Clarity als SaaS-Lösung zu betreiben. Fällt Ihre Entscheidung auf itdesign Clarity SaaS, installieren und betreuen wir Ihr Clarity in einem deutschen Rechenzentrum Ihrer Wahl, beispielsweise über Amazon Web Services (AWS). Mit dem SaaS-Angebot des Herstellers wird Ihr System durch Broadcom in einem deutschen Rechenzentrum in der Google Cloud Platform (GCP) gehostet.

Mehr erfahren

Wie können wir unseren bisherigen Hosting-Dienstleister wechseln?

itdesign übernimmt als Rundum-Partner für Clarity das Hosting und Application Management für Ihr System. Ihr Vorteil: Wir verfügen über jahrzehntelange Erfahrung sowohl mit der Applikation Clarity als auch mit der passenden Infrastruktur. Sie bekommen somit einen einzigen zuverlässigen und kompetenten Ansprechpartner für alle Anliegen zu Ihrem Clarity-System.

Mehr erfahren

Wie können wir mit unserem On-Premise-Clarity in die Cloud wechseln?

Wir begleiten Sie gerne auf Ihrem Weg in die Cloud. Mit unserem itdesign Clarity SaaS-Angebot bekommen Sie alles aus einer Hand: Hosting und Applikations­management im Rundum-Sorglos-Paket.

Mehr erfahren

Wer leistet Support und Wartung für unser System?

Als CA Premier Support Partner unterstützt Sie unser itdesign Support-Team in Deutschland bei Frage- und Problemstellungen mit Clarity aller Art, wahlweise auf Deutsch oder Englisch. Dies umfasst den 2nd-Level sowie den 3rd-Level-Support. Außerdem sorgen wir für den reibungslosen Betrieb Ihrer Software und kümmern uns um die Wartung. Bei Bedarf übernehmen wir auch das Application Management des Systems.

Mehr erfahren

Technische Fragen

Wird Clarity PPM kontinuierlich weiterentwickelt? Wie häufig sind Upgrades verfügbar?

Der Hersteller Broadcom veröffentlicht quartalsweise ein neues Release der Software mit erweiterten Funktionen. Allerdings entscheiden Sie selbst, ob und wann Sie eine neue Version in Anspruch nehmen möchten. Wir informieren Sie in unserem Newsletter, wann eine neue Version für Sie verfügbar ist und welche neuen Funktionen das jeweilige Release mitbringt.

Zur Newsletter-Anmeldung

Wie stabil ist die Performance von Clarity PPM bei großen User-Zahlen?

Clarity PPM kann mit jeglicher Nutzerzahl problemlos umgehen und ist hervorragend skalierbar. Selbst bei 100.000 Usern im System läuft die Software weiterhin hoch performant.

Hersteller und Partner

Wie garantiert itdesign Informationssicherheit? Ist itdesign ISO-zertifiziert?

Informationssicherheit liegt uns besonders am Herzen. Das haben wir uns schriftlich geben lassen. Deshalb ist unser SaaS-Angebot für Clarity PPM seit August 2019 zertifiziert nach ISO/IEC 27001:2013.

ISO-Zertifikat ansehen

Gibt es eine User Community für Clarity PPM?

In Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz gibt es eine sehr aktive, anbieterunabhängige User Group für Clarity PPM. In regelmäßigen Treffen tauschen User verschiedener Branchen und Unternehmen Best Practices, Erfahrungen und Tipps untereinander aus.

Zudem trifft sich die Clarity Community einmal jährlich für zwei Tage bei der itdesign PPM Konferenz. Diese Veranstaltung lebt vom Austausch zwischen Kunden, Partnern, dem Hersteller und itdesign. Praxisvorträge, Workshops und die Produkt-Roadmap stehen neben der beliebten Abendveranstaltung auf dem Programm.

Mehr über die PPM Konferenz erfahren

Wie kann ich mit dem Hersteller Broadcom in Kontakt treten?

Broadcom bietet Ihnen als Kunde verschiedene Websessions für Fragen, Feature Requests, Feedback und Release Previews an. Dort haben Sie regelmäßig die Möglichkeit, direkt mit dem Clarity Produktmanagement zu kommunizieren und Ihre Wünsche sowie Anregungen zu äußern.

Websession-Termine ansehen

Haben Sie weitere Fragen?

Gerne beantworten wir Ihre Fragen auch persönlich. Ich freue mich auf Ihre Nachricht!

Jetzt Kontakt aufnehmen

Clarity PPM

für vollumfängliches Projekt- und Portfoliomanagement

  • Höchstmaß an Konfigurierbarkeit
  • Umfassendes Funktionsspektrum
  • Reporting und Business Intelligence
  • Akzeptanz und Benutzerfreundlichkeit
  • Agiles oder klassisches PM
  • Investitionssicherheit durch Langfristigkeit
Alles über Clarity erfahren

Ich freue mich auf Ihre Nachricht!

Paul Krauss

Technischer Vertrieb

+49 7071 3667 60
ppm@itdesign.de

Kontakt